The Pathways Alliance leadership team brings experience, knowledge and a collaborative spirit to its governance.

We have the scale, the expertise and the resources to actually be a meaningful part of improving emissions.

Kendall dilling, president, pathways alliance

Pathways Alliance senior leadership

Derek Evans

executive chair

Kendall Dilling


As President, Kendall is responsible for overseeing Pathways Alliance operations, liaising with member companies and engaging with governments and external leaders. Prior to joining Pathways Alliance, Kendall was Cenovus Energy’s Vice-President, Environment & Regulatory. With 30 years of experience in the oil and gas industry, Kendall has expertise in environment, regulatory, project development, health and safety, and Indigenous and government relations.

Janelle Benson

Vice President, Integration and strategic projects

Janelle is responsible for integration and alignment between Pathway Alliance’s core functions and member companies. She also oversees the development of the alliance’s strategic initiatives and the Net Zero Plan to achieve the goal of net zero emissions from oil sands operations by 2050.

Prior to joining Pathways in April of 2021, Janelle has more than 25 years of experience with Cenovus Energy, as well as other energy companies. She’s held a variety of roles in project management, portfolio management, Information Technology, amalgamations and operational excellence.

Mark Cameron

Vice President, External Relations

Mark has held several governments positions, including in the Privy Council Office and as Director of Policy Research in the Prime Minister’s Office. His private sector experience includes executive roles with Ontario Power Generation, BlackBerry and Hill + Knowlton Strategies.

He has also held board or advisory roles with the Canadian-American Business Council, Canada-India Business Council, the Munk Debates, Canada 2020, Smart Prosperity, the Energy Futures Lab, Public Policy Forum and the Banff Forum.

Wes Jickling

Vice President, Technology Development & COSIA

Wes assumed the role of COSIA Chief Executive in August 2019 and became Vice President, Technology Development and COSIA under Pathways Alliance in May 2022.

Prior to joining COSIA, Wes was the Chief Executive Officer of Innovation Saskatchewan and that province’s Deputy Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs. Wes has held senior roles in corporate, government and international organizations, including United Nations postings in Brazil, Swaziland (now Eswatini), Ukraine and Sudan.

Brenda Leeds Binder, KC

Vice President, Legal & Corporate services

Brenda joined us in November 2022 on secondment from Suncor. Before assuming her role, she was instrumental in determining our organizational structure and governance as the leader of the Pathways Transition Team.

Brenda has a lengthy history with COSIA, having served on the Board and Shareholders Steering Committee. Her institutional knowledge and background in technology development and commercial and intellectual property law are valuable assets for Pathways Alliance.

Member company leadership

Scott Stauth

President, Canadian Natural

Bill Clapperton

Vice President Regulatory, Stakeholder & Environmental Affairs, Canadian Natural

Alex Pourbaix

Executive Chair, Cenovus Energy

Jeff Lawson

Senior Vice-President, Corporate Development & Acting Chief Sustainability Officer, Cenovus Energy

Bij Agarwal

President, ConocoPhillips Canada

James Makowecki

Vice President, Low Carbon, Sustainable Development & External Affairs, ConocoPhillips Canada

Brad Corson

President & Chief Executive Officer, Imperial

Sherri Evers

Senior Vice President Sustainability Commercial Development & Product Solutions, Imperial

Darlene Gates

Chief Executive Officer, MEG Energy

Garth Castren

Vice PResident of Corporate Development and Strategy, MEG Energy

Kris Smith

Chief Financial Officer, Suncor

Jon Mitchell

Chief Sustainability Officer, SUncor